Zeigelmueller Award


The Ziegelmueller Award is to be presented annually by the Board of Trustees of the National Debate Tournament. The award is named for Professor George Ziegemueller, who has served for more than thirty years as a model to the debate community, to students at Wayne State University, and across the nation. His career has been characterized by years of dedication to his students, to his university, to the forensics profession, and to students learning about public debate and public issues.

The award is given annually to a coach who has demonstrated A long and substantial career of dedication to the profession of student learning in debate and public policy; Substantial evidence of long-term influence on the lives and careers of student debaters; and Substantial evidence of success in debate over that career. Previous Recipients

1999 George Ziegelmueller, Wayne State University
2000 Allan Louden, Wake Forest University
2001 Chester Gibson, State University of West Georgia ; Ken Strange, Dartmouth College
2002 Herb James, Dartmouth College; Karla Leeper, Baylor University
2003 Donn Parson, University of Kansas ; Tuna Snider, University of Vermont
2004 Cate Palczewski, University of Northern Iowa
2005 William Southworth, University of Redlands
2006 Scott Harris, University of Kansas
2007 Scott Deatherage, Northwestern
2008 - Sarah T Partlow Lefevre, Idaho State University
2009 - Ross Smith, Wake Forest University
2010 - Tim O'Donnell, University of Mary Washington
2011 - Gordon Stables, University of Southern California
2012 - Glen Frappier, Gonzaga